Destinations

I’m preparing for a GodTalk for FYG tonight (if the weather shapes up enough that I can drive!).  I’ve decided to talk about hell.  Not because I want to.  I’m not sure anyone likes the topic.  Unless maybe you are a judgmental sort that likes to think of people burning forever.  *shudder*

I’m not so much planning on talking about hell as much as destinations.  Over the years we’ve tried to paint a compelling picture of following Jesus.  And yes, it is compelling!  There are a lot of really good, awesome truths that are very exciting!  But if you’re like me, we prefer to ignore the urgency of the real after life consequences for not accepting Jesus.

So, yes, I want teens to grow in understanding the Bible and believing it to be true.  I want them to believe in Jesus.  I want them to pray.  And I don’t want them to go to hell so I think it’s time to talk about it and do my part to remind them (or tell them for the first time) how serious our beliefs are, especially in a culture that says we can believe whatever we want.

“We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us.  We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.”  2 Corinthians 5:20

Leave a comment