Good Things

  It is exciting to see how things are falling into place for camp.  (I feel like I’m always talking about camp these days but it is what my schedule and thoughts are most tied around.)  We had our staff meeting on Wednesday.  Basically it’s a time of filling the staff in on what all is happening, which cabins they will be in, which activity groups they are in charge of and all of that.  I will be with age 9 to 11 girls (I think) for Junior Camp and ages 13 and 14 for teen camp. 
  Something to praise GOD for is that although my responsibilities are increasing there are some that have been taken over by others.  For example, music.  For the past 4 years I’ve been in charge of that, picking the selection of music and then choosing the songs we’d be singing in chapel, getting all the overheads and copies ready.  This year I handed that over to Jon, the son of the directors.  He has been so awesome about getting everything ready!  In the back of my mind I was assuming that I would still have responsibilities there but I know it’s in capable hands.  Also, although I will be involved in the band (playing acoustic/rythm guitar and background vocals) I will not be leading as  I have in the past, which is a blessing too.  Rarely in the past year has it been that there has been a praise and worship time when I havn’t been leading.  It will be such a blessing to be able to refrain from singing at times and just worship the Lord freely without ensuring that the body of worshippers is singing along.  It’s also very good to have more of a background role.
  My prayer for this year of camp is that I would have the opportunity to build relationships with the kids.  As Program Director it would be really easy to get so wrapped up in all the things I ‘need to do’.  To get caught up in the program and lose the kids.  But over the past 5 years I’ve learned that the relationships is the most valuable thing about being at camp.  I have not been assigned any formal ‘visit’s with campers.  (At our camp, most counselling staff is given a list of campers that they meet with one-on-one at some point during the week)  In a way that makes me sad b/c that has become one of my most favourite duties.  On the other hand that frees me to randomly talk to the kids. 
  It’s amazing how much getting alone with a camper can mean to them.  One of my former campers has become someone I mentor and talk to on a regular basis.  By just being available and showing that I cared about her, she has opened up and shared her life with me.  It has been AWESOME to be able to walk her journey with her this past year. 
  On a different note, although also happy and exciting, tomorrow my sister and nephew arrive for a week’s visit!  Yay!  My nephew is now 6 months old and I havn’t seen him since he was 2 weeks.  He’s sitting and even standing when holding on to things.  My parents are definitely excited about seeing him too!  😀  And my sister as well.   Sadly, my brother is on a mission trip to Brazil so he’ll miss them altogether and my brother-in-law is on a missions trip to Mexico so we won’t get to see him either. 
  My 3 days back at the store working for a former co-worker went well.  It was interesting to be back b/c it wasn’t ‘weird’ at all.  Everything just kind of flowed as if I’d never left.  There were a few minor changes but overall, nothing too crazy.  It was good to be back for those few days.  I don’t miss it but I do enjoy it.  Being back was good b/c it enabled me to see how I’ve grown since I left in February.  I could see it in my attitude, in my interaction with people and how I communicated with my former boss.  It gets me excited to see that GOD is moving and changing me.  It’s hard to see it day to day but over the long run it’s just down right exciting!
  Well, keep praising Him!  He is good.  All the time.

Leave a comment