Meeting the Stranger

  Within this last year I came to the startling realization that I do not really know the Jesus of the Bible.  Yes, I know the stories, the healings, the miracles, and yet as I read I feel as though I am watching a stranger.  (Reminds me of Martin Smith’s song, Intimate Stranger.)  I find myself wishing I could have been there to hear His voice, see His facial expressions, watch His hand movements.  Many times as I read I stop and ask "Why did You do that?  It doesn’t make sense."  Jesus is not predictable and the words He speaks often seem out of place.  At one time we encounter His great compassion, then He speaks words like, "…how long shall I stay with you and put up with you?"  At times He seems rough and reserved and I shy away, and then I read how He is personal and gentle.   One thing is for sure.  Jesus is not a flannelgraph character.  He’s worth studying and finding out.  As Paul says in Philippians 3 "I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord."  We’re supposed to be like Him, so what is He like?  Is the Jesus we follow simply some fluffy puff character from 2000 years ago?  Or is He dynamic, living, complex and beautiful, the central point of our faith?  I want to know Him, I want to see Him more clearly. 

3 thoughts on “Meeting the Stranger

  1. I loved Mark Buchanan\’s book "Your God Is Too Safe" which touched on this matter, as well as John Piper\’s chapter called "The Lion and the Lamb" in his book "Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ". Revelation portrays Jesus as the Lion of Judah who will come to conquer the nations yet appears as a Lamb slain before the foundation of the world. Such excellence and beauty mysteriously wrapped up in one person!

Leave a comment