Weather and Sovereignty

Our yard

  This has been the driest year I have ever seen in my 22 years. I would say that it might be that my memory is bad or that I’m still really young but there are others who are twice my age who are saying similar things. We have not cut our lawn in probably over a month and it doesn’t look like we’ll need to cut it again this year. Forest fires are just waiting to happen. Right now it looks like rain but after a short mist it’s gone. For my African friends seeing these pictures probably doesn’t look too bad, but for those of you who have been to the Rainy River District you know that this is strange and abnormal.

  But one thing that extreme weather consistently reminds me of is the sovereignty of God. There are so many ways in our lives that we think we can control things but weather is not one of them. We just can’t. So as I look out over the dry, sun-burnt lawn that crunches when you walk on it, I have to say "The Lord knows that we need rain and yet He is choosing to not send it." Maybe to remind us that we’re actually not in control. Maybe to turned hardened hearts back to Him. Who knows. But it’s for His glory.

Close up of the lawn

Leave a comment