Crazy

I really did not expect it to happen.  It’s what I’ve been praying for off and on for almost three years but I didn’t expect it.  And definitely not like this.
 
My dad called a bit ago to tell me that someone had called and asked if he knew someone who needs a car.  He proceeded to tell me about the car, it’s good points, it’s bad points and then told me this, "He wouldn’t get very much for it so he’s giving it away."  WHAT!?!??!  That sounds like something from some spiritual hero’s testimony or something.  I mean, sure, it has crossed my mind as a way God could move and maybe even the only way to get a car, but it seemed too crazy.  Too unrealistic. 
 
But here I am praising God.  I expect so little of Him.  Maybe I expect so little because I really don’t pray about things like this much…at all.  Maybe because I really don’t feel like I deserve it.  Partly because I couldn’t imagine that anyone would be generous enough to give ME a car.  It really is a grace of God.  Undeserved by me for sure.  But it’s kind of like how He works in my life all the time.  It really amazes me how God touches people through me.  Not because I’m such a good people person, not because I’m qualified for anything I do, not even because I do everything I should do because none of those things is true.  Yet somehow, God has grace in my life and uses my daily bumblings.
 
Not only that but He’s changing me from within.  What a grace that is.  That even though I am still SO far, I’m not where I once was.  It’s not me.  It’s not my hard work.  It’s not my discipline.  It’s the Spirit bearing fruit despite me.
 
Praise God!  For His gifts, material and spiritual.  Hallelujah, what a God!   

2 thoughts on “Crazy

  1. Um, first, what did you do to your space. You went from plain and boring to like, bold and ugly? I dont know. Anyways. I was thinking, that if you had been praying for God to GIVE you a car like that, then you wouldnt get it, or might not, well, no, cause thigns happen regardless, but it wouldnt be as big of a deal. Like to pray, God give me a car, and he does its like, k God answers prayer. But if its like, I need a car, provide opportunity, then its ever special when Its like this. I dont know. It makes sense in my head. Do you get it for serious? Is it better than the "stang"?  lol. Oh, and its a teusday, and I dont have to be in emo. what will i do with all of this time? my goodness.

  2. I know exactly what you mean.  What I\’ve learned in the last 3 years is that God rarely answers my prayer the way I expect and then from time to time brings what I had expected when I\’ve forgotten about it so it\’s still a surprise.  This is a perfect example. 

Leave a comment