Exactly What I Need

Odd as it sounds, driving a van full of grade 10 boys to the annual
student leadership conference was part of what I needed this week.  For
one it was a confidence booster.  God has used this age group before in
my life to fight insecurity.  There’s something nice about having a
bunch of teenage boys fighting to be in your vehicle because they think
you’re cool.  Any youth leader would be pumped about that.

It was nice to be out of the context of law abiding, in control, good
youth leader/chairwoman/person.  Instead, I enjoyed being the driver
who allowed loud music (and head banged and sang my voice hoarse to
"14"), lead the caravan and promoted Chinese fire drills.  It was nice
to just be and listen to a genre of music that is not normally on my
palate.  Great group of guys.

I’m not sure why God chose to use another group of teenage guys to
speak to my heart this week.  (It’s actually quite humbling…)  The
music for the conference was lead by recent graduates and some current
students of two of the Christian schools that attended the conference. 
Some criticisms were voiced but over powering that for me was amazement
that teen guys who are clearly musically talented would choose to
worship God with abandon.  To stand up among their peers and be
unashamed in worship.  Not all of them perhaps, and I can’t see their
hearts so it could possibly be none of them.  But the lead singer
especially impressed me.  Sure he repeated some parts of songs far too
many times for my liking but it seemed that he was sincerely worshiping
and humble.  Rather than taking every moment to promote himself by
singing directly into the mic he often held the mic away and let the
group carry the melody.  In his actions and his words he never directed
the attention to himself or the band but always to God.

Would that there were more young men like that!  And may other guys
have seen the band guys and be challenged to be unashamed worshipers. 

But I derailed.  I needed that as a challenge to myself as a worship
leader, as a worshiper and as someone who teaches other musicians about
worship.  My heart turns cold so quickly.  I so quickly focus on
details.  And that affects how I lead and what I example to others.

There were other good things about this week: main sessions with Glen
Madden, who is both funny and intense; hands on learning about
different ‘pigs’, or types of leaders from Chris Marchand; singing with
the girls for the talent show (including a practice that could be
described as nothing short of geeky!  ‘Oh, Oh, Oh, Let it Rise!’) and
some good one-on-one discussion and prayer with one of the girls.

Unfortunately as a result I am now sick and tired.  So exactly what I need is some sleep and hot honey-lemon water. 

Leave a comment