Tough Conversations…

…are not a lot of fun to have.

It seems easier to just let things slide and hope they get better rather than confront and challenge people with a gentle and humble heart.  Unfortunately, that’s part of my job.  A part of my job that I don’t tend to do very well.  Thankfully the people (teens) I work with are great and don’t need correction very often!  I’ve got it really good that way!

My role related to GIFT just got defined a little more this week.  My job, in a nutshell, is to encourage the band members to encourage others; to teach them how to be good leaders.  You might be thinking, “Obviously.  Isn’t that what you’ve been doing already?”  Hopefully.  But for some reason it seemed to be clarified a bit more.  I’m not meant to focus on all aspects of the functioning of GIFT.  My main job is to train leaders.  To focus on those 14 (or so) individuals.

I guess that includes challenging them.  And learning more myself to pass on.

Leave a comment