Just Normal

As far as ministry goes these days it seems that there are no major highlights and no major discouragements.  Just carrying on as per usual.

Tonight is GIFT again.  Each of the teams have been doing really well.  It’s always exciting to see the musicians grow in ability and confidence as individuals and a blended whole as a team.  Next week I’ll be leading another workshop so I’m thinking about what topic to discuss now.  We’ve already covered playing as a team, playing with skill and becoming more physically expressive.

This month for our FYG event we did a progressive supper visiting each of our four supporting churches.  It was great to eat a lot of food, chat with different teens and leaders at each stop and hear the four pastors share about creation, fall, redemption and restoration.

For Deeper we just covered Judges.  Talk about some crazy stories!  I’ve probably said it before but going through this series (The Bible in 20) I keep thinking about how dysfunctional the ‘heroes’ and ‘Fathers of the faith’ and their families were!  Since we’re heading into the kings I know it’s not changing anytime soon!

For ISCF I did lead a discussion (or lecture?) about Homosexuality earlier this month.  Which went well from my perspective, mostly thanks to people praying about that I think. We talked about what the Bible says, what if you have a same sex attraction and what if your friend does.  I hope it was helpful.

One thing that’s been fun about ISCF is that before we get into a formal discussion or game there seems to be good conversation and connection which sometimes leads us into serious things we may not have talked about otherwise.

I continue to connect with different teen girls over coffee from time to time and with one girl in particular.  You can read about her blog here.   These visits are often encouraging.  And I know they must be meaningful for the girls too because twice in the last bit I got a call or text from a couple girls wanting to share exciting news they had.

Other than that I sometimes have camp on my mind, especially thinking about speaking for this summer.  We’ll see where that goes!

Leave a comment