The Potter

Sometimes we pray for things (like patience) and then GOD answers and we’re totally unprepared.  I prayed about a week ago for more servanthood flexibility.  Funny.  This week I think almost every day has turned out differently than I orginally intended it too.  Nothing too crazy.  I was just thinking about it yesterday though and had to smile to myself.  GOD answers those prayers.  That’s why sometimes I’m a little scared to pray them even though I know that I need to.  Praying those prayers and then reaping the ‘consequences’ is what takes us to higher and higher levels of intimacy with Jesus, in which case, I’m willing to pray those prayers.  As I was looking through dramas for camp I came across one entitled "The Potter".  Jesus chooses someone.  That person sits down in front of Jesus and Jesus starts shaping and moulding this person.  At first it’s gentle and refreshing but then it starts to hurt.  The person jumps out of the chair, complaining.  Jesus motions for him to sit again, which he does reluctantly.  The same thing happens.  One of the final lines of the person goes something like "Lord, I want to mould me, but it hurts!  But I will let You."  Becoming someone who GOD can use to bring glory to His name, someone who reflects Him flawlessly, entering into the very presence of GOD, it’s not a comfortable business.  As Oswald Chambers wrote in "My Utmost for His Highest", "Either sin or God must die."  If we want to draw closer to GOD there are other things that have to go.  But oh, so worth it!  Praise GOD, He is the only one worth pursuing!

Leave a comment