Twenty Four Years Later

After twenty four years I announced to my church today that I am switching churches. 

This is a pretty big deal for me.  A big step.  While it makes a lot of sense for me to move on to the church I will be attending and in a sense it doesn’t feel weird, in another sense it feels very weird to be leaving my home church without changing my address.  It feels like a drastic thing. 

More than anything I am excited about the change.  I’ll be attending a church that has enjoyed a spurt of growth over the last ten years.  Right now they are wrestling with how to make more space in the sanctuary.  This fall they had 11 baptisms.  A year ago they welcomed a new pastor. 

One thing I am definitely looking forward to is having my church life intersect with my every day life.  In the past my church experience has been completely segregated from my ‘real world’.  It was like a different culture.  I’m thankful for that experience because I believe it makes me a more rounded and understanding person.  But I am ready to be able to interact with my youth kids at church.  To be able to interact with their parents at church.  To be going to church with people in my college and career group. 

I’m also excited about being part of the Ladies Sunday School class.  It’s helped having a college and career group and meeting with an ‘older’ woman every other week but the fellowship will be nice. 

I’m also looking forward to listening to cohesive sermon series.  The church I’m leaving does not have an official pastor so we’ve had a variety of people speaking on Sunday mornings.  It is nice to have the variety.  For a time. 

A new chapter is starting.  I think it’s going to be good.

Leave a comment